About Events

T1 Events:

  • T1 events are Ribbon days. They are held frequently throughout the year, generally a club will hold 2-4 ribbon days a year. Ribbon days are usually held on a single day with neighbouring clubs invited to compete. At Ribbon Days, athlete’s are awarded ribbons for 1st to 8th place, meaning that everyone goes home with a ribbon! Check out our Upcoming Events  to see when the next ribbon day will be.

If an athlete wishes to compete in the Regional games He or She must participate in Ribbon Days.

T2 Events:

  • Regional Games are a T2 event. They are held yearly but not as often as Ribbon Days. Regional Games are open to all athletes within the certain region. Usually they are held over two days and involve an overnight stay but some sports may only require one day of competition. At Regional Games, athletes are awarded a mixture of medals and ribbons. Medals for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place and ribbons for 4th and so on.

If an athlete wishes to compete in the National Games, He or She must participate in Ribbon Days and Regional Games.

National Games:

  • There are two kinds of National Games. The Special Olympics New Zealand National Summer Games and the Special Olympics New Zealand National Winter Games. Both are held every four years. They are held on an alternating two-year schedule. The National Games are multi-day sports competitions held in one location. Athletes gather from around the country to compete in a single chosen sport.
  • Because National Games are held over a number of days, athletes get to travel away from home and stay in accomodation with their team mates! This is a great opportunity for them. Not only do the National Games offer the sporting events, they also offer other activities in addition to sports such as Dinners, Discos and Healthy Athletes.

If an athlete wishes to compete in the World games, they must participate in the National Games.


World Games:

In order to compete in a World Games, athlete’s must have competed in T1, T2 and National events.